Humphrey Cup‎ > ‎2011 Press Release‎ > ‎

2011 Competition

Terrific teamwork, dogged determination and a dazzling display of skills ensured that Lucan Sarsfields came out on top in the Iveagh Grounds on the Crumlin Road when they drove their way to victory in the annual John Humphrey memorial cup hosted by St James Gaels.

A bitter wind may have been blowing across the Iveagh Grounds but it was red hot Lucan who warmed the hearts of their supporters with a dazzling display of skill. 

2011 winners - Lucan Sarsfields

Played on 27 December and 28 December, the competition is held in memory of young John Humphrey, a St James Gaels player, who died tragically in an accident in 1998. This was the 13th year of the competition and, as always, the spirit in which the competition was played, and the high standard of football, was a fitting memorial to the memory of young John Humphrey.

Generously sponsored by John’s family the tournament showcases the cream of under 10 talent in Dublin football.

The group stages on Tuesday saw St Vincent’s, Lucan Sarsfields, Templeogue Synge Street and 2010 champions Whitehall Colmcilles advance to the final stages at the expense of Castleknock, St Annes, Cuala, Thomas Davis and hosts St James Gaels.

The standard of football throughout the tournament was excellent and there was no shortage of thrills over the two days. By the time the final whistle was blown by referee Ross Mulvaney (St James Gaels) on the last of the games many of the spectators were exhausted having witnessed some thrilling games with no end of goal mouth excitement.

Pick of the action on the first day included a breath taking match between St Annes and Templeogue Synge Street which was edged by the Bushy Park Boys on a score of 1-7 to 2-3.

In the other group 2009 champions St Vincents and 2008 winners Lucan had nothing between them at the end of a brilliant encounter in which both sides kicked 2-4 apiece.

In the first semi final Lucan were simply far to strong for Templeogue Synge Street and ran out comfortable winners on a score line of 5-13 to 0-3. Unfortunately, the Synger boys were simply unable to hold back the waves of attacks from this classy Lucan side in which Ciaran Behan was exceptional. No amount of effort by the very game Lorcan Odell and his colleagues could hold Lucan back. Score of the competition, if not the century, came in the first half when Lucan’s classy Behan back heeled the ball over the bar!

In the second semi final St Vincents and Whitehall fought an epic battle which went right down to the wire. A virtual siege of the Whitehall goal near the end of the game failed to yield a winning score for Vinnies and the boys from Marino lost out on a score line of 1-5 to 2-0. Fearghal Sweeney at number 3 and Adam Mc Dermottt were particularly prominent for Whitehall in this game.

The exertions of Whitehall in their semi final epic left them somewhat drained in the final and they simply could not match the exceptional speed and team work of Lucan Sarsfields.

The diminutive Charlie Kerr smashed a blistering shot to the net midway through the first half to give the Lucan lads a lead of 1-3 to no score just before the break. Whitehall had no intentions of letting go of the trophy, however, and a goal on the stroke of half time promised a tense second half to the proceedings.

In the second, half however, Lucan were simply breathtaking and ran out eventual winners on a score line of 3–11 to 1–1.

Speaking at the presentation of the trophy to Lucan Billy Hannigan, of St James Gaels, paid tribute to all of the players and their mentors who had made the event such a success. He paid a special tribute to Gaels Paul Flanagan who is the driving force behind the competition and to everyone else who helped out in any way.

While Ciaran Behan of Lucan was selected as the player of the tournament he had some hot competition for the award from his team mate Charlie Kehr, Conor Brennan of St James Gaels and the Whitehall pair of Fearghal Sweeney and Adam Mc Dermott.

There was no disputing the recipient of the award for best endeavour which went to Lorcan Odell of Synge Street whose tireless effort and determination was second to none.

Finally mention needs to be made of Aaron Byrne, Darragh Kenny and Ross Mulvaney from St James Gaels who did an excellent job as referees throughout the tournament.

St. James Gaels

Templeogue/Synge St.

St. Vincents

Whitehall Colmcilles